Summer Learning Journey-Colour Block Landscape

This SLJ activity is definetely one of my favourites. I chose this picture because the background looked very beautiful and stunning. It reminds me of my cute bunny doll I have. What is your favourite doll? As the video said, I made the cliff and the couple really big to make it look like its close to me. The rest was easy for me, but the sun and trees took me a while to think.

Im proud of my complete project, but I’m thinking the trees and sun are a bit strange. I  added a pattern to the sun to make it stand out more, but I think I should’ve added a reflection too.

4 thoughts on “Summer Learning Journey-Colour Block Landscape

  1. Kia Ora Maddy

    I love your colour contrast of your artwork. The boldness and colour really are outstanding and appealing to look at. Hope you have a lovely day and God Bless!

    Your Friend-Estherose

    1. Talofa Lava Estherose

      Thank you! As I said, the trees were pretty hard to make but everything else seemed fine. I also tried making the couple look realistic, but I was running out of time so I made them with shapes.

      Have a good day today!
      -Madelyn

  2. Kia ora Madelyn,

    What a beautiful Summer Lanscape you have created. Every part of it really stands out in its own way. The part that captures my attention the most is the sparkling stars on the pinkish sunset sky as the sun goes away. You mentioned in your description that you weren’t sure if you liked the sun or the trees. I do. I like the different layers to the sun and how you have made it a range of different yellows. If you do look at the sun it isn’t just one colour, depending where it is in the sky and a range of other factors it can look like multiple different colours at one time. I’m not sure if this was your intention but because you made the cliff large and the trees small it gives the illusion that the cliff is close and the trees are far away. It gives your art depth which is awesome.

    The people on the cliff look like they are enjoying a relaxing sunset. The fact the person at the back has their leg up adds to that relaxed look. Did you do that on purpose?

    What was your inspiration? You mentioned thinking about the sun and trees for a while. Did you have any ideas that you didn’t use in the end?

    Ka pai to mahi Madelyn,
    Anna
    SLJ

    1. Talofa Lava Anna

      The cliff in the picture was supposed to look close and the trees in the background far. I think I nailed it. And yes, the guy that has their leg up making him look more relaxed was on purpose.

      The other idea I had was to add a reflection of the sun, shining on the different colours of the sea. I also thought I should add another shade of blue to make the ocean look clean. But I changed my mind.

      Have a good day today! And a happy New Year as well!
      -Madelyn

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *