Our time at Sailing

Are you one of those people who’ve never experienced sailing before but have always dreamt about it? Well on Tuesday, the 12th of March, my dreams finally came true! Since the whole of Room 8 were given the opportunity to sail at the Akarana Yacht Club. Did you know that it costs 100$ for each child at Sailing? Luckily it was free for us. 

Once we were divided into 3 groups, we each grabbed a rash shirt, a waterproof jackett, a life jacket and a helmet. Each group was guided to an activity to begin the cycle. The first was the optimist dinghy, second was knot tying. Before the Quest, we played with the toys that were soon surrounded everywhere on the floor. Later on, we packed up everything neatly and played So Makalo while waiting for Kim, the organiser. Later on, we finally went out to the clean ocean on the Quest while splashing others with our water gun. Another thing I enjoyed other than splashing water in other peoples faces was the squishy purple jellyfish floating around like it was dead.

Since the Quest was the last activity, I thought we were all going to clean ourselves up, pack our bags and get ready for the bus. But no. Kim said there was enough time for us to take a swim around. Once I jumped into the water, I swallowed so much water that it left a salty flavour on the roof of both my mouth and throat. The salt also blinded me, so I couldn’t see a thing! Except for everyone else gathering around each other while screaming. Climbing out of the water and I immediately run to my bag to get the spare clothes and quickly get changed. 

I would like to thank Akarana Yacht Club for giving us the opportunity to have a go at sailing for the first time. Or for other people, again. I would also like to give my regards to St Johns Rotary for sponsoring us, meaning we could have fun at sailing for free.

 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *