Summer Learning Journey-Tessellations

For this Summer Learning Journey activity I just added random Polygon shapes together, but then I found out that I was doing the wrong thing and restarted. Some of you might notice that I changed it. I chose hexagons because they remind me of those beehive patterns and although I’m afraid of bees and every bug, I still admire them. I still remember the tine where I first got stung by a bee when I was at school, I can’t remember the pain though. Where was your first bee sting? Or your first painful moment?

What I love about this activity is that I learnt meanings of new words that might be useful when I go back to school. But the one word that I love is “Regular Tessellations”. Regular Tessellations is a pattern that includes regular Polygon shapes. Each of the Polygon’s sides are connected and make no gaps. Therefore creating a unique pattern.  And if you don’t know what Regular Polygons are, their shapes that have the same length and the same measurement.

2 thoughts on “Summer Learning Journey-Tessellations

  1. Mōrena Madelyn,

    What an incredible post, you did such an amazing job introducing this activity and explaining to your readers exactly what tessellations are. Do you know when you would use them in maths?

    I personally enjoy this activity because I think tessellations are very satisfying when done correctly!! It sounds like you quite enjoyed this activity too, it is great to hear that you found some new knowledge and some enjoyment in creating these patterns.

    I think the tesselation you created is very cool. I like that you included a story behind the inspiration for your shapes. I can not remember the last time I was stung by a bee, I was probably quite young but I can remember how much it hurt. I was stung right on the bottom of my foot and it hurt to walk for days!!

    Ngā mihi nui,
    Zana Yates
    SLJ

    1. Talofa Lava Zana

      I don’t know when to use this new knowledge during maths. But I will guess I can use it for geometry? I also think that “Tessellations” can be used for other subjects too!

      I was also stung on the foot, but it was on the side. But having to walk with a painful sting at the bottom of your foot must be really bad. I cannot imagine the pain that I would feel if it were me.

      Have a good day today! God bless
      -Madelyn

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *