Summer Learning Journey-Irregular Tessellation

For the “Step it up” version of the Tessellation activity I decided to make 2 of them. I tried making one irregular and the other semi-regular but I think both are semi-regular Tessellation. Making the blue and green one was easy, as for the purple and orange one it took me a bit of time. But then I got it done and it turned out to be pretty good. I like the purple and orange one the most, it looks like a 3D spiky line crawling down. What do you prefer? 2D or 3D?

If you don’t know the difference between irregular and semi-regular then I’ll gladly explain it to you. Semi-regular Tessellations are made from regular polygon shapes, then are combined and creates a pattern. As for the Irregular Tessellation, they are made from figures that aren’t polygon shapes or not even made from any shape at all. The figure can be animals or funky looking shapes that are soon connected and turned into a pattern.

2 thoughts on “Summer Learning Journey-Irregular Tessellation

  1. Mōrena Madelyn,

    What another incredible post, you did such an amazing job stepping up from your last tessellations post and I can see that you challenged yourself with some different shapes and colours.

    I also think you did an incredible job at explaining the difference between the kick star and step up as well as the differences between the types of tessellations.. I was able to successfully tell exactly what kind of tessellation you had made with help from your awesome explorations in your description.

    Did you find this activity to be more challenging than the kick start?

    Ngā mihi nui,
    Zana Yates
    SLJ

    1. Talofa Lava Zana

      And to answer your question. Yes I did, this challenge made me puzzled for a long time. I was stuck so I searched up some examples and re-watched those videos again. Eventually I finally understood, and had a go.

      As for explaining the difference between irregular and semi-regular, it was pretty easy. As in explaining them into more simple words was easy. I know I say this a lot, but whenever new words are included I feel really excited to learn about them.

      Have a good day today! And a happy year this year!
      -Madelyn

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *