Summer Learning Journey- Poem Postcards

I love poems. I love poems that have meanings in them, or “didactic poetry”. But I’ve never heard of “Limerick” poetry. But once I found out what it was, it might be my favourite now. If you don’t know, Limerick poetry is where a poem that has five sentences but has a hilarious story. If I were to share this postcard with someone, I would definetely share it with my friends Estherose, Willietony or Jamie. They make me laugh everytime whenever I’m around them.

I chose Limerick poetry for my project because Its my favourite! But as for the winter snow picture. I chose that picture because I love winter! But in New Zealand it doesn’t really snow when its Winter. Once I grow up, I’d love to travel to countries where their is snow. The only experience I’ve had with snow was at Snow Mountain, it was very fun! I really enjoyed this Summer Learning Journey activity, this reminds me of the times where my class would do poems maybe once a week. Do you love writing poems?

https://g.co/arts/CT9hNSC4MNfuFr6S9

(Copy and paste this link onto another tab to see my full project)

4 thoughts on “Summer Learning Journey- Poem Postcards

  1. Mōrena Madelyn,

    This is such a fun activity as I love poetry and love collecting postcards!! My favourite type of poetry is haikus and tankas, they are old Japanese forms of poetry used to describe emotions and nature. What is your favourite type of poetry?

    I love the art you have chosen, it is such a beautiful winter painting! I wonder how old it is? I think your poem is beautiful and how cool that it was AI generated. How did that work? Did you give the AI any prompts or did it just use the art selected as a prompt?

    It is unfortunate that we don’t get much snow in Aotearoa, at least not on the ground. Where I live we get snow on the mountain tops all around our town and apparently it has snowed once many, many years ago.

    Ngā mihi nui,
    Zana Yates
    SLJ

    1. Talofa Lava Zana

      Wow! I didn’t know that it snowed once. I thought it would never snow, I do wish it snows this year. But I do know that it will be very cold. And to answer your question, the bot just asked what I like. I put in “cats” and I just chose what kind of poetry I liked.

      Have a good day today! God bless
      -Madelyn

  2. Kia Ora Madelyn,
    I am Whaea Tanya one of the Manaiakalani Facilitators you might see commenting on the SLJ Blogs, I am finding it fun to see the different ways the tasks are completed.

    What a great idea to pick a place that is opposite to ours at Christmas. I have had a white Christmas many years ago. I went to Finland in the Northern Hemisphere, they even celebrate Christmas a little differently. On Christmas Eve they have a big meal, sharing it with the family and opening presents. the next day no one does anything except play with the new gifts and visit the other part of the family.
    I am glad you found a new form of poetry, limericks are a lot of fun and often make people laugh, that is why they are one of my favourite forms. I wonder what the poem would have been if you used the word Christmas as a prompt.

    Kia pai tō rā, and keep blogging
    Whaea Tanya
    Ako Hiko Facilitator

    1. Talofa Lava Tanya

      Woah, Finlands ways of celebrating Christmas sounds very exciting. It’s similar to what my family does but we go to Church first then open gifts then later on visit the other side of the family.

      I think If I chose the prompt to fit in with the picture, like Christmas. I’d think it will be about an ice skating incident or maybe another Christmas painting. Who knows, AI can come up with very random stuff.

      Have a good day today! And its nice meeting you Tanya 😀
      -Madelyn

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *