Summer Learning Journey-Poem for my Aunty

To celebrate the beginning of 2024, I decided to make this poem for someone special who can’t be here. My aunty, who sadly passed away. I miss her so much so I made her a poem. I tried making a poem that didn’t need to rhyme, but then I just added rhymes later on. As for the picture. I wanted to make a beautiful picture with birds flying above. But I just thought to myself, I’ll just do a Summer picture. And so I did.

In fact, if the place in the picture was real. I would love to go there! It would be a really nice and beautiful view and to have a good swim. I would definitely take my family with me. I love this Summer Learning Journey, I couldn’t really post anything because I was gone somewhere. But luckily i’m here now. If you were to write a poem to someone who would it be?

4 thoughts on “Summer Learning Journey-Poem for my Aunty

  1. Talofa Lava Maddy!

    Hope you are having a great day! You have done an astounding job with your poem to your Aunt as well as your bright scenery. You have put a lot of deep thought,love and care into this poem, your aunt would be very happy for you for making this poem for her. I hope you have a blessed day and God Bless!

    Your Friend – Estherose

    1. Talofa Lava Estherose

      Yes thank you, I’m good. How are you? Thank you for commenting on my work I appreciate it. And I agree, my Aunty might be very happy. I’m just sad she couldn’t celebrate New Years with me and my family.

      Anyways, Have a good day today!
      -Madelyn

  2. Mōrena Madelyn,

    I like that the step up activity asks you to design and write your own postcard, what a fun challenge after the kick start!

    I think your post card art looks beautiful and it is a lovely depiction of the beautiful beaches and sunsets of Aotearoa. I love the bold colours you have used throughout, it is a postcard I am sure I could see sold in the shops.

    How lovely that you dedicated this poem to your Aunt, it is a beautiful gesture and a lovely way to remember her. Writing poems is a beautiful and constructive way to remember those that are no longer with us. I sometimes write poems to people that I have lost as well.

    Ngā mihi nui,
    Zana Yates
    SLJ

    1. Talofa lava Zana

      Thank you for commenting, Although I’ve designed postcards before I’ve never delivered any before. Probably because i’m too young, or just don’t know how to deliver postcards or letters through mail yet. But I’d love to try someday.

      I agree, writing a poem to my Aunty to remember her is a good way to spend time with her. I’ve never thought of making poems for the ones that have passed away because I thought poems were boring. But not I understand, poems have deeper meaning, if its to someone or about something it tells us a lesson.

      Have a good day today! God bless
      -Madelyn

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *