Summer Learning Journey-Snakes and Ladders

For this Summer Learning Journey activity, I didn’t really know what to do. I knew how to play the game, but I didn’t know what or how to show my work. Maybe I should ask one of my friends to play with me next time.

I decided to play alone and the game was pretty fun, even if you’re playing alone but thats just my opinion. At the start it was pretty easy for me, I also decided to solve the equation questions just so the viewer can know. The middle was a bit hard but I got through it. The last part kept frustrating me. I kept climbing up ladders and sliding down snakes but eventually I ended the game.

I really loved this game, but I should’ve played with a buddy so it can make it even more exciting! In fact, this reminds me of a New Zealand book I read called “Snakes and Ladders”. The story was nothing what I expected, but it was very good. Do you like reading books in your free time?

3 thoughts on “Summer Learning Journey-Snakes and Ladders

  1. Kia ora Madelyn,

    I love how you made a connection between this game and the book you read. Can you tell me more about the book? You mentioned it wasn’t what you expected which peaked my interest. What surprised you about the book? I do enjoy reading books in my free time, especially during summer holidays when I’ve got lots of free time. Do you enjoy reading books? What book did you read last?

    What a good idea to answer the questions as you went along, it gives the audience an indication of the journey you took to win. It must have been frustrating to be so close to the finish line and you fell victim to the snake. It would have been easy for you to cheat (seeing as you were playing alone) but you showed integrity and kept at it and finally you won which is awesome. Do you have siblings or anyone at home you could play with? Snakes and Ladders is definitely more exciting with multiple people.

    Awesome work Madelyn, keep up all the awesome blogging.
    Anna
    SLJ

    1. Talofa Lava Anna

      The New Zealand book I read wasn’t really appropiate for my age, it had some content that I probably wasn’t supposed to read. But I was for some reason very intrigued. I didn’t really want to cheat because it was pretty boring But im glad I didn’t!

      Have a good day today! And a happy New Years too!

      1. Kia ora Madelyn,

        Did you get the book from the library? I love the library. I live in Christchurch and we have the coolest library in New Zealand I think. It consists of 4 stories. The first story has puzzles, chess, books, a cafe, computers etc. The second story is the kids floor. It has lego, table tennis, playstation, board games, kids books, young adult fiction, everything and anything you could think of is there. The other two stories are more for adults but they are nice and quiet and have lots of amazing books. Do you go to the library much? If so, what is your favourite part about the library?

        Anna
        SLJ

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *