Summer Learning Journey-Snakes and Ladders (Multiplication Edition)

I have done completed the “Step it up” Activity, but this time I asked one of my friends to join me. And as I said in the last Snakes and Ladders activity, this was more enjoyable than playing alone. My friend “Justin” is smart so he was pretty good at solving the questions. And as expected he won, but it was a very fun game. I suggest this game for those who love math and enjoy board games.

I have a question, What is your favourite board game to play with your family?

4 thoughts on “Summer Learning Journey-Snakes and Ladders (Multiplication Edition)

  1. Ata mārie Madelyn,

    Justin may have one but you were not far behind him. In a game that close surely it’s the luck of the dice and the ladders. Did either of you fall victim to a snake and have to track backwards? What happens if you land on an equation and you get it wrong?

    I really liked your description and how you provided us with information like what you did, who you played with and you even included a question at the end which is always helpful. It would have been nice if you had included instructions for those that have never played Snakes and Ladders.

    To answer your question, what is my favourite board game? As a kid I would have to say Monopoly. There are lots of games around these days though so now I just like trying out new games. What is your favourite board game?

    Tino pai to mahi Madelyn, maybe play Justin again and see if you can beat him.
    Anna
    SLJ

    1. Talofa Lava Anna

      As for the addition Snakes and Ladders, we kept going down the snakes when we were close to the finish line. And to answer your question, I’ll have to go with Monopoly too.

      I always used to play Monopoly with my family when I had the chance. What I didn’t really like was how long it would take for the game to end, in fact I don’t think anyone in my family has won because they were impatient or had to do something else!

      Maybe I should play against Justin again, but this time with 2 other friends of mine! Have a wonderful day today!
      Madelyn

      1. Kia ora Madelyn,

        Thank you for taking the time to respond to my comment. I like it when people respond to my comments.

        That’s always frustrating when you are so close to the end but you keep going down the snake. I learnt reading another blog that Snakes and Ladders was created in India and the purpose behind it was to teach children about life’s ups and downs. The ladders are meant to represent successes while the snakes represent failures or setbacks. The moral is that if you keep going you’ll always make it to the finish line. I quite liked that story.

        I know what you mean about Monopoly. It is a very long game. Very few people have the time to complete a full game of monopoly. I have before but we completed it over two days. Have you tried playing monopoly deal? It is much quicker and equally as fun I think.

        Anna
        SLJ

  2. Malo lelei Maddy
    Jamie here! That looks like a hard game to play with Justin. Did you enjoy playing, and what was the most frustrating part? If I was playing, the last snake would be infuriating if I landed on it.

    How do you think you could upgrade or make this game challenging? Maybe by changing the questions or adding a time limit to answering the questions?
    Keep up the great work Maddy, have a great day and a happy New Year!!
    Your best friend Jamie

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *